I n the spring of 2006, Timothy Jay Smith and a group of socially conscious donors founded the Smith Prize for Political Theater. Administered by the National New Play Network, the prize encourages emerging playwrights to dramatize the pressing issues of our times, and provides an incentive for theaters to produce their plays.

The Smith Prize defines ‘political theatre’ as plays addressing issues and concerns that effect the American body politic. It favors works that tell intimate stories but are driven by bigger picture events.

The Smith Prize is administered by the National New Play Network, which also financially supports the prize along with private donors. Donations are tax deductible and are matched 3-to-1 to create an annual $10,000 prize that funds the winning playwright’s commission ($5,000), further development of the play ($2,500), and the first theater to mount a full production of the play ($2,500).

Donations for the Smith Prize are gratefully accepted year-round. Donations are tax deductible, and matched 3-to-1 by Timothy Smith and the NNPN. Please click on the button below to make a secure online donation, or if you prefer, please send a check to NNPN, 641 D Street NW, Washington DC20004. Let them know it’s for the Smith Prize!

In the drop-down menu above, please click on 'About the Smith Prize' to learn how and why it was created.